After regular interclub racing throughout the Summer, the annual State Championships provided our elite team with a chance to test themselves against WA’s best runners over the Middle Distance events. Friday night saw some terrific results over 1500m with every Open & U/20 squad member either medalling or running a PB – including the Open Women who claimed the Trifecta! Full results can be seen below:
  • Open Women’s 1500m:
    • Angie Ross GOLD 4.37
    • Rachel McCormick SILVER 4.38
    • Keely Waters BRONZE 4.48
  • Open Men’s 1500m
    • Luke Burrows SILVER 3.50 PB
    • Tom Moorcroft 6th 3.54 PB
    • Kai Metzner 7th 3.55 PB
  • U/20 Women’s 1500m:
    • Zoe Griffiths 4th 5.07 PB
  • U/20 Men’s 1500m
    • Josh Keatch GOLD 4.07 PB
    • Lachlan Taylor-Greaves BRONZE 4.22 PB 
Sunday saw the focus switch to the tactical beast that is the 800m. Some more terrific results were achieved from the Open & U/20 squad members who all translated their training into results when it mattered most, including the Open Men who claimed the quinella – keeping the State 800m title in the squad for a 2nd year after Alain Dutton’s triumph in 2019! Full results can be seen below:
  • Open Women’s 800m
    • Angie Ross 4th 
  • Open Men’s 800m
    • Luke Burrows GOLD 1.53 
    • Tom Moorcroft SILVER 1.54
    • Kai Metzner 5th 1.56
  • U/20 Men’s 800m
    • Josh Keatch SILVER 2.00
A big shout out must also go to Brendon Warren who debuted at the State Champs this year and claimed a medal in arguably the toughest event of the whole weekend – the 3000m Steeple-Chase! Brendon took out BRONZE in a time of 12.35!
Finally, well done to our junior emerging squads on some terrific performances over the weekend as they continue their long term progression under the guidance of coach Jaz Long. Their enjoyment of the sport and passion for self improvement will hold them is good stead as they continue to develop into Senior athletes.
As the track season draws to a close, the next goal is the upcoming National Track & Field Championships in Sydney at the end of March. Congratulations and all the best to the follow team members who will be participating:
  • Luke Burrows: Open Men’s 800m
  • Tom Moorcroft: Open Men’s 800m
  • Keely Waters: Open Women’s 1500m
  • Ethan Wyatt-Smith: U/17 Boy’s 3000m
  • Ellie Glands: U/16 Girl’s 2000mSC 

Leave a Comment